Electronic visas to St Petersburg and Leningrad Region

From the of 1 October 2019 citizens of a number of states (the list of the states is below) will be able to obtain electronic visas (single entry e-visas for business, humanitarian and tourist purposes) for travelling to St Petersburg and the Leningrad Region. E-visas can be obtained on the Russian Foreign Ministry’s e-visa website http://electronic-visa.kdmid.ru/index_en.html.

An electronic visa for trips to St Petersburg and the Leningrad Region will be issued only to citizens of the attached list of states (according the Decision of  the Government of the Russian Federation No. 2021-r of 10.09.2019).

Electronic visa is issued free of charge by filling in an application on the e-visa website at least four calendar days before the planned trip and by attaching a photo file to the application.

Electronic visa is issued for a period of 30 days from the date of issue for a maximum stay of 8 days from the date of entry to the territory of Russia.

Electronic visa for St Petersburg and Leningrad Region is valid for entry into and exit from Russia by air, road and water, as well as without means of transport (on foot) through the following border stations of the Russian Federation in St Petersburg and Leningrad Region:

  • Pulkovo International Airport,

  • Vysotsk harbour,

  • Big Port of St Petersburg (Bolshoi port / Morskoi Vokzal), Passenger Port of St Petersburg,

  • Ivangorod, Torfyanovka, Brusnichnaya and Svetogorsk road border stations

  • Ivangorod border crossing point for pedestrians.


The use of electronic visas for St. Petersburg and the Leningrad Region is currently unavailable in rail traffic. The border control is carried out onboard the trains to Finland and Estonia, and the border guard are not yet equipped with the necessary portable e-visa validation devices. 

Electronic visa for St Petersburg and the Leningrad Region is valid for entry and stay in the city of St Petersburg and the Leningrad Region only. Non-compliance with this requirement will constitute a violation of the visa regime for foreign citizens’ stay in the territory of the Russian Federation, and will entail administrative sanctions.

Transport companies shall be able to check the validity of e-visas at the Russian Foreign Ministry’s website http://evisacheck.kdmid.ru/,  in Russian or English.

When applying for an electronic visa, the applicant shall be responsible for the accuracy of the submitted personal data, incl. spelling of surnames and given names, which shall correspond to the spelling in the visa holder’s passport. If the personal data or photo provided for the electronic visa differs in part or in full from the data in the visa holder’s passport (nationality, surname, given name or names, date of birth, sex, passport number), the entry permit will not be granted by the border control and the e-visa will be cancelled. The only exception to this shall be when the visa holder’s name contains a number of characters that exceeds the space available in the name field of the electronic visa application.


Electronic visa to St Petersburg and Leningrad Region is available to the citizens of the following countries (approved by Decision No. 2021-r of the Government of the Russian Federation of 10.09.2019)

1. Austria

2. Andorra

3. Bahrain

4. Belgium

5. Bulgaria

6. Vatican

7. Hungary

8. Germany

9. Greece

10. Denmark

11. India

12. Indonesia

13. Iran

14. Ireland

15. Iceland

16. Spain

17. Italy

18. Qatar

19. Cyprus

20. China (including Taiwan)

21. Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

22. Kuwait

23. Latvia

24. Lithuania

25. Liechtenstein

26. Luxembourg

27. Malaysia

28. Malta

29. Mexico

30. Monaco

31. The Netherlands

32. Norway

33. Oman

34. Poland

35. Portugal

36. Romania

37. San Marino

38. Saudi Arabia

39. Northern Macedonia

40. Serbia

41. Singapore

42. Slovakia

43. Slovenia

44. Turkey

45. Philippines

46. ​​Finland

47. France

48. Croatia

49. The Czech Republic

50. Switzerland

51. Sweden

52. Estonia

53. Japan